Today we introduce a new account setting called:”Default Privacy Protect setting”, which you can access by clicking here.
When selected, domain name registrations and transfers will not use our privacy service automatically. This is how it used to work for years.
Setting enabled when free (and available)
When enabled all domain name registrations and transfers will automatically use our privacy service. Regardless if you use WHMCS, our API or the domain name manager.
A list of available TLDs that can be used for this service is located here.
We keep recommending this service as it is unknown if gTLD registries will continue to publish the data in the WHOIS or not. Several large gTLDs will no longer publish the WHOIS, similar to how we will operate our WHOIS server. But some of them most likely will keep publishing registrant data.
Enabled (when available)
Same as above but also will use privacy services that are not free of charge. Please check the price list in your account if that is the case.
When you register a domain name you can override your account settings if required. Select the desired action from the drop-down menu.
At the moment the default setting is not active, as mentioned earlier. Due to the new ICANN contractual regulations that have been rushed out of the door on 17-05-2018 this week, we are reviewing the option to turn this on for all customers. I apologize in advance for any inconvenience this may cause.